
Juvenile Expungements in 
Delaware

“ T h e  c o n t i n u e d  e x i s t e n c e  a n d  d i s s e m i n a t i o n  o f  j u v e n i l e  c r i m i n a l  h i s t o r i e s  h a m p e r s  a n  
i n d i v i d u a l ’ s  a b i l i t y  t o  b e  s u c c e s s f u l  a n d  a  p r o d u c t i v e  m e m b e r  o f  s o c i e t y . ”  - S B  1 9 8  S y n o p s i s     

What is an expungement?

The expungement process:

Interested in seeking a juvenile expungement? 
Contact Alanna Farber, Esq. at the Office of Defense Services at (302) 577-5120. 

Delaware’s laws allow for expungement of a juvenile record, which removes any juvenile arrests, 
charges, or adjudications from an individual’s record. Here’s why:

After an expungement, an individual’s arrest history does not have to be disclosed for any reason, 
including employment, housing, education and credit purposes.  

Juvenile criminal histories hinder a person’s ability to obtain employment, housing, education and credit

Studies show that children age out of criminal behavior 

Expungement of juvenile criminal histories allows youth and adults to move beyond past youthful indiscretions 

To get an expungement, the petitioner must not have any pending criminal charges and must not have 
any adult convictions. Expungements are also prohibited for certain serious, violent felonies. 
There are 2 types of expungements: mandatory, which means the Court must grant an expungement,
and discretionary, which means the Court may grant an expungement.

1 or more misdemeanor or violation cases was "terminated in the child's favor" (this includes successful completion of 

diversion programs, dismissals, or NPs [dropped])

1 or more felony, misdemeanor, or violation cases was "terminated in the child's favor"                                                     

 ** There is a 1 year waiting period for an expungement where the child was charged with a felony in the case**

They have exactly 1 adjudication for a felony, misdemeanor, or violation, and at least 3 years have passed since the date 

of adjudication

3 years have passed since the date of adjudication, and they have exactly 1 adjudication for a misdemeanor sex offense 
or a violent felony
5 years have passed since the date of the most recent adjudication, and they have: 

7 years have passed since the date of the most recent adjudication, and they have multiple adjudications for felonies, 
including violent felonies and felony sex offenses, misdemeanors, and violations

Multiple adjudications for felonies, misdemeanors, or violations, except for violent felonies and felony sex offenses
No more than 1 case that resulted in an adjudication for a felony sex offense

Individuals may apply to the Court for a discretionary expungement if: 

Individuals qualify for a mandatory expungement if: 

Find more information at courts.delaware.gov/help/expungements and ods.delaware.gov/expungements/ 

  ** Adjudications for violent felonies, and misdemeanor and felony sex offenses are excluded from this category** 

http://ods.delaware.gov/expungements/

